Government of Canada / Gouvernement du Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada


Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission Act

Version of section 6 from 2002-12-31 to 2012-03-15:

Marginal note:Chairperson and Vice-Chairpersons

  •  (1) The Governor in Council shall designate one of the full-time members to be Chairperson of the Commission and two of the full-time members to be Vice-Chairpersons of the Commission.

  • Marginal note:Chairperson chief executive officer

    (2) The Chairperson is the chief executive officer of the Commission, has supervision over and direction of the work and staff of the Commission and shall preside at meetings of the Commission.

  • Marginal note:Chairperson’s absence, incapacity or office vacant

    (3) In the event of the absence or incapacity of the Chairperson or if the office of Chairperson is vacant, the Commission may authorize one of the Vice-Chairpersons to exercise the powers and to perform the duties and functions of the Chairperson.

  • Marginal note:Acting Chairperson

    (4) The Commission may authorize one or more of its full-time members to act as Chairperson for the time being if the Chairperson and both Vice-Chairpersons are absent or unable to act or if the office of Chairperson and each office of Vice-Chairperson are vacant.

  • R.S., 1985, c. C-22, s. 6
  • 2001, c. 34, s. 31(E)

Date modified: