Government of Canada / Gouvernement du Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada


National Capital Act

Version of section 2 from 2005-04-01 to 2007-03-31:

Marginal note:Definitions

 In this Act,



Chairperson means the Chairperson of the Commission; (président)



Commission means the National Capital Commission referred to in section 3; (Commission)



department means

  • (a) any department named in Schedule I to the Financial Administration Act,

  • (a.1) any division or branch of the federal public administration named in Schedule I.1 to that Act,

  • (a.2) any commission under the Inquiries Act designated as a department for the purposes of the Financial Administration Act,

  • (b) any corporation named in Schedule II or III to the Financial Administration Act, and

  • (c) any board, commission, corporation or other body that is, for all its purposes or for all the purposes of the Act of Parliament under which it is established, an agent of Her Majesty; (ministère)

Her Majesty

Sa Majesté

Her Majesty means Her Majesty in right of Canada; (Sa Majesté)


voie publique

highway includes any street, road, lane, thoroughfare or driveway; (voie publique)

local municipality

municipalité locale

local municipality means a municipality wholly or partly within the National Capital Region; (municipalité locale)


Version anglaise seulement

member means a member of the Commission; (Version anglaise seulement)



Minister means the Prime Minister of Canada or such other member of the Queen’s Privy Council for Canada as is designated by the Governor in Council as the Minister for the purposes of this Act; (ministre)

National Capital Region

région de la capitale nationale

National Capital Region means the seat of the Government of Canada and its surrounding area, more particularly described in the schedule; (région de la capitale nationale)


bien ou propriété

property means real or personal property or any interest therein; (bien ou propriété)

property of the Commission

bien de la Commission ou propriété de la Commission

property of the Commission means property under the control and management of, or vested in the name of, the Commission; (bien de la Commission ou propriété de la Commission)

public lands

terrains publics

public lands means real property or any interest therein, under the control and management of a department; (terrains publics)



Vice-Chairperson means the Vice-Chairperson of the Commission; (vice-président)


Version anglaise seulement

work means any work, structure or undertaking. (Version anglaise seulement)

  • R.S., 1985, c. N-4, s. 2
  • R.S., 1985, c. 45 (4th Supp.), s. 1
  • 1992, c. 1, s. 141
  • 1995, c. 29, s. 55(E)
  • 2003, c. 22, s. 224(E)

Date modified: